A canvas background

TheI have been a tad obsessed with Canva’s of late. In fact I am in the process of Making 4″x4″ ones for my 365 days of love for July.

This Background was created because I wanted to experiment with an Idea I had that I was not 100% sure would work.

 photo canvasbackground_zps9256c1b3.jpg

I used 2 crafters choice stencils – one cogs and gears, the other clock faces.

Firstly I prepped the Canvas using Monte Marte Modeling Paste ( a budget crafters best friend as it can also be used like gesso,) Tip: Open the lid of the jar before you buy it and make sure your Modeling paste is smooth if it is chunky looking DO NOT BUY IT!

Then using a palette knife and the first stencil spread the Modeling paste over the stencil kind of like buttering toast (ie on a slight angle), you can also use an old credit or gift card to do this.

As this canvas is 12×12″ I used the stencil 4 times.

Allow the Modeling Paste to dry between layers.

I then played a bit with the clock face sencil. Adding it in different places and turning it around as I went. (using the same method as I did for the first stencil)

After it was all dry I then used my palette knife to add some smoothed out bits that I added texture to by bouncing the palette knife over them. I also flicked bits of modeling paste over the canvas as well.

Yep more drying.

Then something really fun. Misting in various colours (do not stress if some seem to bright as you can see by the background once you rub over the metallic distress stains the colour is toned right down)

I did use my heat gun to dry the mists when needed. I used a combo of Home Made, Tsukinedo Walnut ink spritz and smooch.

Then I put some of the Copper? Metallic stain on my craft sheet and using my fingers gently rubbed it over the canvas, then I followed that with the Pewter and that is where it is at Now.

Thinking this may end up being the background for a Dr Who themed Christmas Present.

Leave a Reply

