A little bit of Experimenting

I signed up to do Creative Jumpstart 2013 and was really inspired by one of the mixed media journal tutorials (I sadly can not find the tutorial) but her is a link to Jumpstart

The gist of the technique (there were 3 in the tutorial as with most of the cjs ones) was that you wet your watercolour paper and just sort of splodged on colours, let them blend and sort of create a bit of what you want ie maybe sky and grass but ultimately just splodge bits on,

then walk away and let it dry.

Come back and look at it grab a sharpie and outline your bits to create things such as flowers

then you went around the outside of these with gesso or white paint. I could not find my gesso or white paint so I used picket fence crackle on the bottom of mine and some snow cap pain dabber around the top,
then added some more water colours over the top.

It was quite fun to play and I love how when you outline things in sharpies or fine felt tip markers it actually can turn something a bit meh into art.

Here is what I created:

 photo aj.jpg

I went a bit splatter happy and not everything I tried worked but I really enjoyed the process and hope to use it in my art journaling at some point. I love stepping out of my crafting comfort zone into more arty persuits especially as I was very lucky to receive a gift last year of some Winsdsor Newton Water Colours which I use quite a lot.

Leave a Reply

