12 Journaling Pages Febuary (AKA my version of 12 tags of 2013)

I had so much fun creating my journaling pages for this month. I was a bit worried because I only have two of the Distress Markers at present though I did use my worn lipstick one which we will get to in a minute.

Click here for Tim’s Tag

I am so happy with how this months turned out here is the pic:
 photo febuary_zpsfb84e631.jpg
I know the technique for this month was about colouring with distress markers but as I said my stash is seriously lacking in them. So instead I created a background using ranger paint dabbers (both ranger and Jenni Bowlin ones I am absolutely addicted to her Malted Milk dabber such a great colour to play with)

I first took my lightest pink (shell pink) and rubbed it over both pages, dried it with my heat gun then went over it with Malted Milk the idea is to leave some blank spaces and spots where the white shows through the pink to be filled in by the malted milk and some where the pink shows through stronger. I then used a paint brush and dipped it into the lids of Raspberry, Chewing gum and snow cap and flicked it one by one over the pages (I dried between colours so they each popped more) and that is the background finished.

Next I used some thin chipboard from a cereal packed and Quickutz’s branch die (I altered this slightly by cutting off a branch and placing it elsewhere to give a more even flow to the branches). I painted it in malted milk, then dabbed over some expresso and a little sunshine yellow then cut it to fit my pages and stuck it down with glossy accents.

I then used sizzix and cuttlebug dies for the hearts and cut them out of white cs. They were coloured with worn lipstick distress stain, splattered with some tarnished brass stain and then edged in worn lipstick distress marker. (told you I got the marker in there somewhere) before being glued onto the branches. Then it was a matter of using some glue gloss (am totally addicted to it) and sprinkling with some Ranger Dry stickles to make the hearts sparkly. I lastly chose words from Tim’s Chit Chat stickers (in seasonal and everyday?) and used a little glossy to stick them in place.

I used one of His tags that I stained in picked raspberry distress stain and snow cap stain. Added in a cs cupid cut from another quickutz die.

Then used some tissue tape to form the bottom and some pretty circle embellishments and a button from Tattered Inspirations and viola another mixed media journal page is done 🙂

One thought on “12 Journaling Pages Febuary (AKA my version of 12 tags of 2013)

Leave a Reply

