10 Years of Bearmaking

I actually got my years confused and it turns out this year marks the 10th anniversary of me as a bear artist. So in celebration I am sharing some of my bears with you starting with Peaches a bear I made from a kit and the very first bear I ever made

She is the one in the middle

Photobucket

now our journey takes us to Eloise ( I was encouraged to create my own patterns very early on so only ever made one or two commercial pattern bears) She was the first bear I ever designed from scratch, somehow she worked and I created my signature heart nose at the time most people did heart shaped noses as an oval with a dip in the center. She is still a part of my hug to this day

Photobucket

I have no idea of the order I created my bears in but I am going to share some of my bears along my 10 year journey.

Harlequin was made from a pattern but holds a place in my heart for being my very first clown bear

Photobucket

The Centeddial Fairy made to commemorate the 200th anniversary of the creation of the Teddy Bear is one of the few I have made from plush rather than mohair or curtain fabric.

Photobucket

Meet Bruce the very first of my fat bellied bears Belinda of sugar shack surprise bears taught me how to get the belly shape and it has always helped me to get a fat tummy if I want one.

Photobucket

now at that same show I met her I had entered Sky Cloudwalker (can you believe I lost points for the nose because it was not uniform when is a cloud uniform?)

Skye Cloudwalker

so that is my beginnings although I do have some more favorites to share with you from those times look out for the next post

One thought on “10 Years of Bearmaking

Leave a Reply

