12 Coasters November

Can you believe how fast this year has flown by? I know it is hard to believe that it was just nearly a year ago that I started this craft blog for the 12 tags of Christmas 2011 .

Then in Feb Mr Holtz delighted and surprised us all by announcing that he would be doing a tag a month and we could all play along to. What a wonderful journey it has been to learn new techniques, revisit old fav’s and to just stretch our creativity every month.

Next month is extra exciting because I will be able to reveal what all these coasters are going to become and I have to say I am rather excited by seeing all this years work come together.

This months tag 
features the lovely colours of Autumn and whilst I love that colour palette it is spring in Australia that and my distress stain range is limited to just half a dozen at present (stormy sky, chipped sapphire, broken china, dusty concord, worn lipstick, warm honey and frayed burlap) which lend itself to a far more spring version of the technique used.

I got a craft iron earlier in the year because of several techniques I was dying to be able to do and this was one of them.

This technique (Bear in mind my coasters are just 4″ square so no where near as much room as the tags used) also gave me a chance to use my new Boundless Flight stamps that were a birthday present from my Sister and nieces. I added in a stamping up stamp from a set I purchased some years ago and used snow cap distress stain as well as home made pearl mist, ranger embossing powder and versafine black onyx ink and here is this months Tag.

I did add in just one other technique learned from the amazing Jennifer Maguire in Stretch your stamps and it is a water droplet embossing one that I used to add a few more white spots to my coaster.
Photobucket

6 thoughts on “12 Coasters November

  1. I SO love stopping in to check out your takes on Tim’s tags! This one is gorgeous–love the colors and all the layers! Somehow I missed October’s coaster. That one is soooooo cool!!

Leave a Reply

