October Coaster (my take on 12 tags of 2012)

Yes I know I am usually an eager beaver and have my Coaster done long before now. However this month has been busy filled with place cards and art workshops and birthdays so it is only the last couple of days I have been able to sit down and work on my Coaster for October. See the Alcohol ink/rock candy glitter technique here.

I also needed to wait for one of my birthday parcels to arrive as I knew it contained the rock candy glitter (btw if you have diamond dust this technique works great with that as well I tested it out for cupcake sprinkles for something new I am working on for my etsy store)

Anyway I noticed that when you dropped the raisin? alcohol ink into the glitter it looked a bit like blood splattered onto snow so I did the same thing over some modelling paste that I textured by bouncing my finger over the top of it.

Used an orange, red and yellow paint dabber to create my sky, cut out some bats with a cuttlebug die and covered them with glossy accents and Rock candy dry glitter coloured with pitch black alcohol ink. Dropped a drop of alcohol ink onto my dry modeling paste and let it spread. To get the smaller splatters I took a thin paintbrush and dropped alcohol ink straight into the brush then tapped it a few times till I was happy with the result (to clean the brush dip it in some blending soloution and paint out the alcohol ink repeat until your brush is clean), Created my own coffin shape out of glossy card stock and again pulled out the alcohol inks to create what I hope is a faux stone/marble type finish. I also alcohol ink the plastic skeleton arm (taken from a cheap set of skeletons from spotlight already faux aged but I really like the way the alcohol ink kicks that up a few notches).  And that is all the elements of my coaster. Took a while to pull it all together but I am so happy with how it turned out.

Here it is. What do you think?

Photobucket

One thought on “October Coaster (my take on 12 tags of 2012)

Leave a Reply

