A little bit of arty fairy fun

In case you haven’t already guessed along with butterflies, fairies are one of my favourite things. This week saw me receive an amazing gift of a full set of Winsor and Newton Half Pan watercolours. Yes I did a happy dance and thanked the person who sent them to me over and over for their generosity as it was totally unexpected. Part of the reason I have been dying to get my hands on some watercolours is that I got this fantastic Children’s book from Fishpond for a bargain$7.16 with free post. The reason I wanted the book was other than it being fairies. I love the funky cute look of it. I have seen some really awesome art journaling with this sort of drawing and painting in it and must confess I have been dying to try it.

This is the book.

Photobucket

Now here is my first attempt

Photobucket

My second

Photobucket

And also a fairy pond scene
Photobucket

What I love about the book is it is super simple. I am not one for having to sit there are pour over something to read for hours and hours, nor do I like to copy stuff over and over as another book I got recently has as it’s format.

All you need is some watercolours and a black felt tip pen. That is it.

For me I know I am totally looking forward to playing more and learning to use my watercolours in other ways.
For me Art and craft is about exploration and playing. I don’t always think what I do is very good or brilliant or arty. But I enjoy the process.

As for my fairies I know I need to look where I am putting my lines more, pay attention to where their wings are and such and perhaps overcrowd the picture a little less.

However it was fun and the end result for a first effort is pretty good and what I wanted to be able to do.

Sometimes I think grown up books make things far more complex than they need to be. When things are simple, we tend to pick up and develop them faster as well as to change them and put our own unique spin on them.

I know a lot of people would turn their noses up and go children’s book however I loved the cover and I have learned a long time ago to trust my intuition. I am ever so glad I did with this book as I love it. I look forward to trying some of the other techniques in it.

May you be inspired to new creative heights.

Amanda

Leave a Reply

