Thoughts, finished projects and ideas.

So this has been a creative couple of weeks. Yet sadly I cannot share with you some of the things I have been creating. They are for a commission and I am unable to share them until they arrive at their destination.

I am awash with creative ideas; however my creative space is a bomb site. Worse since containers fell over out of nowhere (all sorted again now). The Commission bear turned out better than I had hoped. Especially after the whole safety eye debacle (took me 3 tries and a lot of needle sculpting to get the eyes almost even)

Also created were some inchies for an Artistic Document Swap, I had E and V and the theme was storybook, a bit worried mine will be to plain a my printer is being painful and I know that loads of people printed out little micro images and such.

In the meantime Doodling with Jim Henson is sitting there waiting for me to actually start doodling with Jim (I have read the book it is amazing and I can’t wait to play). Also arriving last week a book called how to draw anything. I have had a look at it; read some am not convinced it is for me. Not sure I am the copy everything type of person but then again perhaps I will be in the mood for it at a different point and also my how to draw fairies and mermaids arrived. So now onto my wish list goes some different sized fine tip black markers (like the Pitt set), water colours, some books to use to practice in, and some new lead pencils. I swear that list always gets longer rather than shorter. Then again there are so many new things to try and techniques to play with.

This year is filled with creative potential. It is the 10th anniversary of me as a bear artist. So along with the unique one of a kind creations each bear made this year bears a very special place as a 10th anniversary bear. Amongst my bear plans are a Mama Umbridge (for those of you who have no idea who that is Might I suggest watching A Very Potter Sequel by Team Starkid), a set of popcorn bears complete with popcorn container, a Marilyn Monbear (from diamonds are a girl’s best friend) and perhaps I will even get my teddy bears picnic scene done, or even my tangled in the Christmas lights on a ladder bear, there is a list of ideas I have floating around here somewhere and quite a few various props floating around. I also have ideas for a 2012 runway collection.

To date I have made over 200 bears. I am looking forward to the challenges some of my new bear ideas will bring.

This is the first non commission bear of this year. Yet to be named (if you have any ideas feel free to comment). The Recycled Curtain fabric has been hand doodled and then hand coloured in using sharpie markers. It did bleed a touch in places but I think it adds to the arty look of the bear.

From the side
Photobucket

Other Side

Photobucket

And of course from the front

Photobucket

As you can see each time you look there is something new to discover. That is the beauty of the hand doodled fabric there is so much to see and delight in.

Not only this but I am determined to aide my inner artist to flourish. In any ways I can be it scrapping, drawing, mixed media, or other things.

Also received some wonderful washi tape this week(my first and I love it). Had a play with it by making a card for a friend. Also I revamped a friendship book I had made a batch of a couple of  Christmases ago from some Martha Stewart wedding programs I got cheap and immediately thought oooh these would make awesome little books or mini albums ($5 for 20 of them on clearance no brainer). So here is the card and the revamped cover. I used the same washi tape so that they would go together. The beauty of the Wedding programs is that not only were they cheap but also as long as you do not use bulky embellishments they fit easily into a card to post. So make a wonderful and thoughtful gift without adding the added expense of extra postage especially when it comes to posting overseas.

So here is the Card very ‘Raindrops Keep Falling on my Head’

Photobucket

and here is the Card and Friendship book together.

Photobucket

I cannot wait to share the commission bear and the card I made for the new parents. It will however be a few weeks before I can do so.

In the meantime create up a storm

For me I will be cleaning up my craft and other spaces as I have new storage here that is yet to be put together as it needs spaces to go into. Can’t wait though as now I should well and truly have a spot for all my craft needs including my bear supplies. This should also help me reduce the amount of stuff that is lacking homes. After all I will have 32 cubes of storage that can all go together to form a wall of craft supplies. The more I sort things the more in some places I realise I need more containers and other such storage bits and pieces to maximise what I can fit in them. Although I am not sure they will all be filled as yet. It is great to be able to look and see where things are as well as it means I am also using more of the stuff I do have as I know where it is.

Well that’s me updated for now. Hope to have more to share with you soon.

May your inspiration flow

Amanda

Leave a Reply

