Adventures in Doodling Parts 2 and 3

So I came across the term Zen Doodling and found an amazing  site http://tanglepatterns.com/ which is all about the art of Zentangles

The idea appeals to me on two levels. One because it is fun and liberating and two because it is considered meditative.

It is so easy to lose yourself in the moment when you doddle. That is the essence of meditation finding the still place within, turning off the endless chatter in your mind and being completely and wholly in the moment.

For me I looked at the tangle patterns but only very loosely did I even contemplate adding them to my doodle instead preferring to freeform.

The way you do this is to start with a blank piece of paper and a thin black marker, or felt tip pen. You divide up your page loosely creating areas to doodle in.

My advice is when you do this start small and get bigger. I did a page that is a little bigger than A4 and I had to walk away and come back to it because about halfway through I ran out of steam and things I wanted to try

So here is the original Uncoloured Version

Photobucket

And here is the one I added colour to

Photobucket

Inspired by a parcel I received yesterday with two mini walnut ink misters and 3 smooch spritz ones. I had a brain wave what if I misted the background of a page then doodled over it (also thinking it would be great to do with the paint splatter technique as you would then be able to turn some of the splatters into things in your doodle). So out came my new art journal and low and behold that became my very first page. Have to say I had fun playing with this. Mostly because I am trying new things, this was done without lifting the felt tip pen from the page. What I love though is how the shimmer and sparkle merges so well with the doodling.

So here is a Pic of that doodling as well.

Photobucket

Leave a Reply

