Exploring my inner artist

This year has for me about exploring new ideas and mixed media art journaling has definitely captured my imagination. The scope and range of products in the art and craft world astounds me and my wish list is rife full of all sorts of things that I would love to experiment with.

I have been playing with some cheap pastels (they are more like a chalk/watercolour than an oil pastel) and some very basic drawings. I have also acquired along the way both soft and hard charcoals, and a few art pads to play on.

Today for the first time I decided to try and draw and colour a face (other than art classes at school some eep let’s just say a very long time ago).

I have been seeing such wonderful fun and funky faces and people around and about and I always think I wish I could do that so today I decided to try it.

So I used the biggest art pad I had and pencil drew in a face, I then traced it with tissue paper (in case I made a completely horrible mess of things) I painted the original with pastel mixed with water and also a little extra pastels in places to add texture

This first pic is the Tissue Paper Pic

Photobucket

And This is the coloured version, I am quite happy with this as a first effort especially pleased with her eyes as this was done without thinking of anyone just off the cuff

Photobucket

Also (no wonder housework is not getting done, 12 tags, Christmas and a bout of mega creativity) I had a go at making a little hand bound book although I had seen this on a TV show and did look at some tutorials I ended up doing it in my own way (what is new with that lol) I still have to make a cover for it but here is a pic of it so far it is 6 pages from a sketch pad as well as tissue paper. I am looking forward to making the cover and seeing how it looks when I finish it. It is designed to be a pocket art journal not sure if I am keeping it or going to use it for a present for one of my arty friends who draw.

Leave a Reply

