12 Tags Day 11

Of Course all this is Inspired by Tim Holtz see todays tag here:
http://timholtz.typepad.com/my_weblog/2011/12/12-tags-of-christmastag-11.html

Hi there

For anyone reading this blog I figured I should tell you a little about my crafty self. First and foremost I work on a budget, rarely get to buy things when they first come out and often have to bargain hunt to make my limited craft money stretch. So I tend to invest in re usable items such as inks, dies, or bulk lots such as the 2mm rhinestones.

As for today’s tag as I am already on overtime with my net I will have to watch the tutorial video next week after my new net month begins. So today yet again finds me improvising and playing. It was a lot of fun, a bit of frustration and honestly I love the result so the time and effort to hand Bling the flourish I feel is well worth it. So hard to believe that we are at the last day of 12 Tags soon it has flown by in a creative whirlwind. I for one can not wait to see what the last tag will be.

So here is tag 11:
Photobucket

Materials:

Printworks Silver Vellum Christmas Sticker

Polyshrink in Clear

Tim Holtz- Blending tool, solution and foam

– Alcohol ink in cranberry

– Iced Spruce Ink

– Snow Cap Paint Dabber

– Glossy Accents

– Re-inkers in Broken china and milled lavender

2mm Rhinestones (as mentioned before I got these in bulk off eBay 20k for around $5 inc postage and use these to do homemade flourishes)

Heat Gun

CB Cut and Emboss Butterfly

Water Mister

Autumn Leaves Christmas Flourishes

Manilla Tag

1. Dab some snow cap onto your craft mat and dab around some broken china and a drop or three of milled lavender (I know it doesn’t show up it turns the broken china a kind of funky teal colour) Spritz with water and run your tag through it (like we have all done many times this week)

2. Dry with your heat gun (careful to dab any pools of liquid first)

3. Use the Water Splatter technique that Tim Holtz has instructions for on many of the 12 tags

4. Dry with your heat gun, splatter again if you feel it is necessary

5. Cut out 5 butterflies from clear shrink film (I did extra just in case)

6. Use your blending tool covered with cranberry alcohol ink and a couple of dabs of gold. Drop a drop of blending solution into the gold spots. Colour your butterflies with this. Adding more when needed or a little blending solution

7. Grab some tweezers and your heat gun (you will need to do one butterfly at a time if you want to shape them I suggest wearing rubber gloves if you don’t want to burn yourself). Place the tweezers gently on one of the butterflies and heat it with the heat tool

8. When it has shrunk. Pick up the butterfly and shape it with your fingers, I folded mine up towards the centre and shaped the wings. If it sets to fast re heat and try again. Do this for all of your butterflies

9. Stamp your flourish with Iced spruce onto the top corner of your tag (if you have loads of already made rhinestone flourishes in your stash use one of those)

10. Spread a little glossy accents along your flourish and place your rhinestones on top of it (I use superfine nail art tweezers) and repeat until your flourish is completely covered

11. Using a little glossy accents and your rhinestones glue a line of them inside your butterflies as their bodies

12. Using a little glossy accents on the bottom of them glue your butterflies in place (I used the ends of the flourish)

13. Attach your Merry Christmas Sticker

And that’s all there is to it.

3 thoughts on “12 Tags Day 11

Leave a Reply

