12 Tags of Christmas and Welcome

Hi fellow crafter’s

I have been meaning to create a craft blog to go along with my musings for some time and Tim Holtz’s 12 tags of Christmas seems a great time to begin. See this link for more information and the techniques used : http://timholtz.typepad.com/my_weblog/2011/11/12-tags-of-christmastag-1.html

Now I do not have a lot of the products used in the tags, my stash while it has grown in leaps and bounds is still quite limited. So instead of doing a Christmas tag. I decided to use the first day’s background technique as a way of finishing off a Christmas Present that is in a Steampunk Theme.

Here is my Tag

Steampunk Tag

I used the same background technique by using versamark watermark ink inside the cuttlebug Clockworks embossing folder. But instead of using white embossing powder I used Stamp World superfine black. The cardstock is DCWV jewel cardstock in purple and rubbed over with Dusty concord distress re-inker so it would match the notebook. The Letters are cut from Sizzix Love Letters Strip Alphabet Die painted with glue and glittered with  Silver Lazer Glitter from Stuff with David on Ebay. The Letters are finished with a coat of glossy accents, they are attatched with a piece of Black Ball Chain, and assorted charms from my stash.

I have to say I love the background technique and for the look to go with the notebook I did not sand the raised image as it did not suit the project but it does add a great added distress element.

I also used a Heidi Swapp Edge Distresser on the Edges

The Look I am calling Modern Gothic Steampunk.

Well that is tag one 🙂

stay with me over the next 10 days (I am starting this post a day late) while I explore and let my imagination run wild inspired by Tim Holtz’s amazing work

2 thoughts on “12 Tags of Christmas and Welcome

Leave a Reply

